Saturday, March 12, 2016

On people with crazy long lists and/or a stranglehold on episode discussion threads

This is something that, for whatever reason, has bugged me for a pretty long time now.  This is also something that might just be jealousy and nothing more.

But holy hell does that ever NOT stop Stark700 and spacecowboy from bothering me.

If you don't know, spacecowboy has one of the biggest (if not the biggest) anime lists on MAL.  I initially friended him because, during my alphabetical/chronological/whatever project, I would just look to see if he had completed an entry to know if it was even available anywhere.

However, I have recently begun to suspect that his account is somehow automated.  No one watches that much anime, season after season, every show each season, PLUS 2 older series without any kind of break whatsoever.  The thought about automation stemmed from a couple things I had already noticed:

1) As part of putting nearly the whole existing database on his list, he also adds every new entry into that database.

2) I noticed on the Stats page of some anime he has on his list, the activity date was Dec. 31, 1969.  Granted, this might be a MAL glitch but it still seems suspicious.

And then there's the matter of Stark700.  The main problem I have with him is simple: he makes all the discussion threads for airing anime despite the fact that it is blatantly obvious he knows little to no Japanese and most likely only absorbs less than half of each episode.  Go check out one of his discussion threads and you'll see stuff like "the ost was good" "seems like" "x character did something obvious" etc.  You'll also frequently see that the post was modified.

A good example of a bunch of words just put together that don't really mean anything, from his She And Her Cat episode 2 thread--"Nice episode, really liked the fact that it shows how the cat lives at home while examining its surroundings".  LOL THE CAT WAS LOOKIN OUT THE WINDOW DURRRR.  Gimme a fuckin' break.

Add to this the following:

1) He has SIXTY currently watching shows, PLUS ONE THOUSAND THREE HUNDRED TWENTY THREE currently "reading" manga.  Let me say that again - 1,323.

2) Notice how I put reading in quotes up there.  The reason for this is simple - I've seen numerous times in recent posts that he will start the discussion thread for a manga chapter and then LESS THAN TEN MINUTES LATER will make the next one.  So not only does he have over a thousand manga, he also skims through their chapters.  This is a huge disservice to the creators, and it's all so Stark can consume more and ever more in his relentless quest to be FURST everywhere.

So is it just plain jealousy, or do I have a point and there really is something more going on behind the scenes?

No comments:

Post a Comment